Long Days

The breeze is picking up off the water, seagulls screaming something I never could understand. I look for you beside me, tall as paris, gallant as a roman myth. The sun shines off your face and you notice me watching. You smile like it’s out first long meeting, though we have been this way many times before. Even before I knew you would be there, before I was too young to regret , before thoughts mattered, the water had watched me pass. You give me courage to look back now. I hold your hand tightly for fear that these perfect times are a dream. If only all our days felt this long.

Leave a Reply

